Being comfortable being you

Acamea
4 min readSep 19, 2018

Why do we often want to be anyone other than who we are?

by Lidya Nada on Unsplash

I remember intentionally flunking an eye exam when I was a kid. My mother took my brother and me to the optometrist for a routine eye test and I had decided that I was not going to pass it this time. Why? Because I wanted to wear glasses.

So, when the doctor sat me behind whatever that massive machine is called that’s connected to what appears to be an intricate set of binoculars, I faked it. Being that I was probably about 10 or 11 years old, I’m pretty sure I didn’t put on a great acting performance either. I stared at the illuminated screen with my 20/20 vision and pretended I was struggling to read the combination of letters. I breezed through the first couple of rows. Didn’t want anyone to think I was going blind or anything. But after that I started squinting and giving the impression that I was struggling.

When it was all said and done, I got my glasses. They were pink plastic frames with a nice leather carrying pouch. I probably wore them for all of one week before the novelty subsided and I completely forgot they existed.

Why did I want to wear glasses? Because I didn’t need to, of course. I had friends and saw people at school wearing them and I thought it looked cool. The only reason I thought this was likely because I didn’t have any. I know people who…

--

--

Acamea

Pushcart Prize nominated essayist and memoirist. Author. Music connoisseur. Multi-passionate creative. I’ve lost a lot of sleep to dreams….