Relearning How to be Present

Acamea
4 min readFeb 20, 2019

Things that I’ve done to be here, now.

Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash

I remember when I’d look forward to the songs that I would listen to on my drive to work. A self-proclaimed music connoisseur, this was my favorite part of the morning. Back when cell phones were only used for talking and texting, and maybe the occasional game of solitaire — I’d examine my mood, then select the corresponding tunes that would set the tone for my day.

Once social media stormed into our lives and mobile devices evolved into much more than vehicles for traditional communication, my serene morning car rides were disrupted. As was just about every other place I previously went for peace and the therapeutic activities in which I engaged.

The need for constant virtual connectivity for no other reason than it being available takes us out of the moment. FOMO (fear of missing out) is at an all-time high. Although I still enjoyed playing my music in the mornings, I wasn’t really listening. I was too busy scrolling through Instagram at every stop light, checking emails and notifications, or seeing who said what every chance I got. Because, God forbid I saw a picture of someone’s breakfast more than five minutes after it was posted.

It’s the illusion of importance that allows our digital community to become disruptive. We feel as though we have to reply to comments and…

--

--

Acamea

Pushcart Prize nominated essayist and memoirist. Author. Music connoisseur. Multi-passionate creative. I’ve lost a lot of sleep to dreams….